Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity and Libraries: Diversity Audits

Making Diversity Work

See and read about how libraries are using diversity audits.

Book

Book

Book

Blog Posts of Note

The Benefits & Limits of Diversity Audits

From the blog Reading While White

Call to Action:  Conducting A Diversity Audit

From the blog RA For All

Diversity, Audits, And Choosing Books

From The Lerner Blog

Articles

Assessing the Diversity of the E-Collection of William H. Hannon Library; a Phased Project

Loyola Marymount University librarians:  to ensure that their materials collection aligns with our institutional vision and meets the research needs of our diverse campus population, proposed an assessment of our electronic collection through the lens of diversity. The assessment was to determine if the library’s online databases (most often the first point of research consultation for our students and faculty) are adequately “bridging disciplines” (Bridge) and “representing diverse topics and perspectives” (Gateway).

Auditing an Academic Library Book Collection

Librarians may use attribute sampling to estimate the maximum portion of a population having an attribute of interest. Advantages of the technique are that the user may examine a very small portion of the population and make an estimate with very low but measurable risk of misstatement.

Conducting the Accessibility Audit: How One Academic Library Identified Barriers for Patrons with Disabilities

The design, implementation, and the results of an electronic accessibility audit of an academic library’s online presence. The goal was to identify actionable items to pursue in order to reduce electronic barriers for our patrons with disabilities

Diversity and Cultural Competence in the LIS Classroom: A Curriculum Audit

In a case study examining a library and information science graduate curriculum, 18 graduate students engaged in a comprehensive diversity audit of the School of Information Science curriculum. 

Diversity Auditing 101:  How to Evaluate Your Collection

"A diversity audit takes inventory and determines what's in a collection and what areas need to be better developed. It yields concrete data. This type of audit helps put the science in library science." 

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Audit Report

Results from the University of the Pacific's diversity audit of its entire collection to determine gaps in representations of race, gender, sexual orientation, ability and other traditionally marginalized perspectives. The goal is to diversify the collection to ensure that students, faculty and staff can access materials that reflect the diversity of experiences and perspectives of our communities

Measuring Diversity In The Collection

A collection diversity audit is a crucial tool for libraries to assess their offerings. Starting small makes it manageable.

Taking AIM:  Integrating Organization Development into the Creation of a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Audit

Assessing DEI efforts at a more organizational level. It was one library’s need to understand not only their current status in terms of integrating DEI into their organization, but assessing their progress from year to year that lead to the initial development of a DEI audit by an independent consultant.

The Trouble with diverse books, part I:  on the limits of conceptual analysis for political negotiation in Library & Information Science

The need for a unified account for the term diverse books. Conceptual analysis, while initially promising, falls short as a method for identifying one.

Whose Play Scripts Are Being Published? A Diversity Audit of One Library's Collection in Conversation with the Broader Play Publishing World

This study is a diversity audit of play script orders during FY2011 and FY2019 to determine if University of California, Irvine Libraries’ orders had shifted to reflect the increased demand for diverse playwrights. The audit also examined the larger publishing landscape for play scripts to determine if plays by diverse playwrights were being published and available for acquisition.

Video

Video

Websites

Google Scholar

Freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

NoveList Plus

If you are keeping track of Own Voices authors as you assess your collection, NoveList is a great resource. 

Project Ready: Reimagining Equity and Access for Diverse Youth

Free, online professional development modules for school and public youth services librarians, library administrators, and others interested in improving their knowledge about race and racism, racial equity, and culturally sustaining pedagogy. 

Additional Resources

Diversity Audits in the LLC:  Why, How, and What's Next?

Webinar from the Oregon Library Association

Diversity Audits in Library Learning Commons: Equity in Action

School LLC diversity audit examining four key steps: taking a random sampling of the collection, tracking it against diversity markers, generating data and then using the data to inform future acquisitions and directions;  professional development that addresses our implied biases.

Diversity Audit of a Middle School Library

Teacher Librarian Specialist, Toni Duval reports on the 2017 - 2019 Fiction Collection audit and its implications. 

Attributions

Articles

Bright, Kawanna, and Nikhat J. Ghouse. "Taking AIM: Integrating Organization Development into the Creation of a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Audit." www.libraryassessment.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/64-Bright-Ghouse-TakingAIM.pdf.

Cooke, N. A., & Jacobs, J. A. "Diversity and Cultural Competence in the LIS Classroom: A Curriculum Audit." Urban Library Journal, vol. 24,

no.1, 2018. Retrieved from https://academicworks.cuny.edu/ulj/vol24/iss1/2.

Friebel, Jenna. "The Benefits & Limits of a Diversity Audit." Reading While White, 7 January 2019, readingwhilewhite.blogspot.com/2019/01/the-

benefits-limits-of-diversity-audits.html.

Gibney, Michele, et al. "Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion-Library Audit Report." Scholarly Commons, University of the Pacific, 20 April

2021, scholarlycommons.pacific.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1018&context=research-tuesdays

Jensen, Karen. "Diversity Auditing 101:  How to Evaluate Your Collection." School Library Journal, 22 October 2018, www.slj.com/?

detailStory=diversity-auditing-101-how-to-evaluate-collection.

Kennedy, Marie; Conner-Gaten, et al., "Assessing the Diversity of the Ecollection of the

William H. Hannon Library; a Phased Project." Digital Commons, LMU Librarian Publications & Presentations, 22 October 2018,

digitalcommons.lmu.edu/librarian_pubs/96.

Kiger, Jack E., and Kenneth Wise. “Auditing an Academic Library Book Collection.” Journal of Academic Librarianship, vol. 22, no. 4, July 1996, p.

267. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1016/S0099-1333(96)90116-0.

Lawrence, E.E. (2020), "The trouble with diverse books, part I: on the limits of conceptual analysis for political negotiation in Library & Information

Science", Journal of Documentation, Vol. 76 No. 6,  22 June 2020, pp. 1473-1491, doi.org/10.1108/JD-04-2020-0057.

Marrall, Rebecca M., and Nora K. Burmeister. "Conducting the Accessibility Audit: How One Academic Library Identified Barriers for Patrons with

Disabilities." August 2016, cedar.wwu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1052&context=library_facpubs.

Mortensen, Annabelle. “Measuring Diversity In The Collection: A Collection Diversity Audit Is a Crucial Tool for Libraries to Assess

Their Offerings. Starting Small Makes It Manageable.” Library Journal (1976), vol. 144, no. 4, Library Journals, LLC, 2019, p. 28–, 

i-share-cod.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CARLI_COD/6bopgp/cdi_gale_lrcgauss_A584263473.

Neel, Lara. "Diversity, Audits, And Choosing Books." The Lerner Blog, October 2019, lernerbooks.blog/2019/10/diversity-audits-and-choosing-

books.html.

Scott M. Stone. "Whose Play Scripts Are Being Published? A Diversity Audit of One Library’s Collection in Conversation with the Broader Play

Publishing World." Taylor & Francis Online, Collection Management, 03 February

2020, www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/01462679.2020.1715314.

Spratford, Becky. "Call to Action:  Conducting a Diversity Audit." RA for All, 6 November 2017, raforall.blogspot.com/2017/11/call-to-action

-conduct-diversity-audit.html.   

Books

Chun, Edna and Evans, Alvin. Conducting an Institutional Diversity Audit in Higher Education. Stylus Publishing, LLC, 31 May

2019. Amazon, www.amazon.com/Conducting-Institutional-Diversity-Higher-Education/dp/1620368188.

Jones, Shannon D. and Beverly, Murphy. Diversity and Inclusion in Libraries:  A Call to Action and Strategies for Success. Rowman & Littlefield

Publishers, 24 July 2019. Amazon, www.amazon.com/Diversity-Inclusion-Libraries-Strategies-Association-dp-

1538114380/dp/1538114380/ref=mt_other?_encoding=UTF8&me=&qid=1620112982.

Mestre, Lori. Librarians Serving Diverse Populations:  Challenges & Opportunities. American Library Association, 31 December 2009, ALA

Store, www.alastore.ala.org/content/librarians-serving-diverse-populations-challenges-opportunities-acrl-publications.

Images

Colored Pencils Image. BCS Consulting, 28 October 2019, www.bcsconsulting.com/services/equality-diversity-inclusion/

"Computer keyboard" by newfilm.dk is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

Diversity Cube. Mark Ghall's Blog, markghall.wordpress.com/page/2/

"Notepad icon" by Agus Purwanto is licensed under CC BY 3.0

"Online Articles" by Katerina Limpitsouni is licensed under unDraw

"Teamwork" by Katerina Limpitsouni is licensed under unDraw

Other Resources

"Diversity Audit Webinar." YouTube, 14 January 2021, www.youtube.com/watch?v=Td8pApG_HCk.

Duval, Toni. "Diversity Audit of a Middle School Library." Canadian School Libraries Journal, v. 4, no. 3, 11 November

2020, journal.canadianschoollibraries.ca/diversity-audit-of-a-middle-school-library/.

Jensen, Karen. "Diversity Considerations in YA:  Doing A Diversity Audit." School Library Journal, November 2017,

teenlibrariantoolbox.com/files/2017/11/Diversity-Audit-Outline-2017-with-Sources.pdf.

Rubio, Rebeca. "Diversity Audits in Library Learning Commons: Equity in Action." Canadian School Libraries Journal, v. 5, no. 1, 3 March

2021, journal.canadianschoollibraries.ca/diversity-audits-in-library-learning-commons-equity-in-action/.

Videos

"Diversity Audits for Library Collections." YouTube, Uploaded by RAILS, 15 December 2020, www.youtube.com/watch?v=1lzd4dupwgo.

"Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Audits: Implications and Applications for Library & Information Organizations." YouTube, Uploaded by South

Central Regional Library Council, 5 November 2020, www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRhpV_9ELt8. 

Websites

Google Scholar, scholar.google.com/

NoveList Plus. EBSCO, 2018, i-share-cod.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CARLI_COD/lt0cpo/alma993285186705827.

Project Ready: Reimagining Equity and Access for Diverse Youth, ready.web.unc.edu/.